Rio Project Whitewater Releases

Eagle Creek is pleased to provide scheduled whitewater releases from its Rio facility on the Mongaup River.  These releases occur in either one- or two-unit increments of 435 cfs per unit.  Whitewater releases occur between the hours of 11:00 am and 3:00 pm, one day every other weekend, from mid-April through the end of October.

Please see the schedule at the link below for specific whitewater release dates, times, and number of units for the 2018 whitewater season.

Update 5/11/2018: Due to maintenance work at Rio, two of the 2-unit releases in May and June have been changed to 1-unit releases.  To make up for the changes, other releases later in the year have been changed as well. 

This release schedule is subject to change due to local conditions.  All persons interested in utilizing the whitewater access facility should verify the schedule by calling the Eagle Creek toll free hotline, which is updated by the Wednesday prior to the scheduled release date: (855) 313-ECRE

2018 Rio Project Whitewater Release Schedule

Date Day Time # of Units Notes
4/15/2018 Sunday 11:00 - 15:00 1  
4/28/2018 Saturday 11:00 - 15:00 2  
5/13/2018 Sunday 11:00 - 15:00 1  
5/26/2018 Saturday 11:00 - 15:00 1 changed from original 2-unit schedule 
6/10/2018 Sunday 11:00 - 15:00 1  
6/23/2018 Saturday 11:00 - 15:00 1 changed from original 2-unit schedule 
7/8/2018 Sunday 11:00 - 15:00 2 changed from original 1-unit schedule 
7/21/2018 Saturday 11:00 - 15:00 2  
8/5/2018 Sunday 11:00 - 15:00 1  
8/18/2018 Saturday 11:00 - 15:00 2  
9/2/2018 Sunday 11:00 - 15:00 2 changed from original 1-unit schedule 
9/15/2018 Saturday 11:00 - 15:00 1 changed from original 2-unit schedule 
9/30/2018 Sunday 11:00 - 15:00 2 changed from original 1-unit schedule
10/13/2018 Saturday 11:00 - 15:00 2  
10/28/2018 Sunday 11:00 - 15:00 1